en es ru de fr pt it zh ar nl sv iw hi pl tr

OSCARS 2021 - Red carpet gowns sewing technique review

The 93rd Academy Awards ceremony took place on April 25, 2021 and it did not disappoint!

I think this year's dresses to be some of the BEST EVER. Classics and modernity intertwined in their best combination.

Surprisingly despite various forecasts, the Red carpet was filled with corset dresses. Moreover, almost all the highlighted by the media gowns are corset-based.

oscars 2021 1

oscars 2021 2

oscars 2021 3

Interestingly, the dresses are divided into crop tops and bras on the one hand, and closed neck dresses on the other. For a long time, there was no such intense contracts.

Another distinctive feature is color. Most designers have followed the path of brightness and solidity of color. Even the decor elements are made in monochrome: blue sequins on a blue dress, red ones on red ones, and gold ones on gold.

The primary colors of the night are gold, red, blue, white and dazzling neon shades of yellow and orange.

I was especially pleased with the cleanliness of the lines and the "readability" of the sewing techniques.

I’m 100% certain that you will be able to make all the dresses from this review! I will guide you to specific courses from the library, so you know where to look for a specific technique.

So here we go.

PART 1

Regina King in Louis Vuitton

1928

A magical silk dress with luxurious ruffles on the shoulders that can be compared to the wings of a butterfly.

The shape of these three-dimensional pieces can be maintained with a dense nylon mesh.

1928-1

A detail from this mesh is cut out in the form of a shuttlecock and then cleanly sealed between two layers of silk.

The dress has a classic design with a one-piece shoulder strap.

The seams of the dress reliefs are decorated with embroidery with rhinestones. The elegant design, perfectly matched color and a little sparkle make this dress truly royal.

You will find the pattern and all the sewing method in the course "Wedding dress with sleeves", which is included in the VIP plan.

2021-04-29_17-18-43

Viola Davis in Alexander McQueen

3378

Luxurious dress made using the guilloche technique.

At first glance, it may seem that it consists of one airy openwork layer.

In fact, it is a classic corset-based dress. The base color is matched exactly to the skin color. Hence the illusion of transparency of the lace.

The dress has an elongated corset to the hip line, with attached chiffon skirt.

To get that many folds along the bottom, the upper skirt has at least two circles in its cut.

It's hard to believe, but for all the sophistication, this dress is very simple to make.

A beginner will be able to "master" it.

In the PRO / VIP program, in one of the first practical classes, students sew a dress, which is a basis for this "red carpet gown"! (the class "Wedding Dress with Deep Neckline and Whole-Piece Train” for the Wedding and Evening Dresses program).

Here is a technical drawing of this dress:

3378-1 (1)

 

We use a dress pattern only up to the hip line and choose the color of the fabric for sewing: nude or whatever suits your design.

3378-2

For the skirt we cut out two "suns"(circles) and sew them into one canvas. Sew the skirt to the bottom of the corset.

3378-3

Then, using a pyrography device for burning on fabric (guilloche), we create the upper openwork layer of the dress and shoulder straps.

In the course “Crop-Top Dress” available for all the VIP members you will learn how to burn on fabric, what device, how to create a pattern and much more.

2021-04-29_17-17-58

 

PART 2: Twin Dresses

I combined these 3 dresses together and called them “sisters” (or “twins”)

  • Angela Bassett in Alberta Ferretti
  • Nicole Robinson (Nicolette Robinson) in Zuhair Murad
  • Halle Berry at Dolce & Gabbana

The design of all these 3 dresses is based on one pattern, the same sewing technique and the same decorating principle.

What makes them different?

  • Different fabrics: color and texture
  • Different design of shoulder straps: lush (Angela Bassett - red dress), thin (Nicolette Robinson - black dress) and no (Halle Berry - lilac dress)
  • Skirts: straight (Angela Bassett), half sun (Nicolette Robinson) and full sun (Halle Berry)

What is the magic pattern that goes for these luxurious gowns?

This is the pattern "Wedding Dress with a deep neckline and whole-piece train." Even a beginner can make this dress. All our PRO and VIP members start with it. The pattern even comes as a gift in the free BEGINNER course.

It is extremely easy to adjust it to any size, it’s good for thin or plus-size ladies as well.

The pattern, in all respects, is universal.

3378-1 (1) 174852519_4181562195189913_2813876902882068098_n

Well, now, let's dwell on the details.

Luxurious red dress from the design house Alberta Ferretti.

3305

3305-1

Huge silk organdy sleeves and a bow on the back, turning into a train, steel the show.

To keep their shape, the entire volume of the sleeves is filled with tulle. The sleeves themselves are a rectangle gathered in folds on both sides. They are attached to the front armhole cuts, to the horizontal strap on the forearm and to the back middle seam of the back.

Please note that the designer chose to cover the bodice with a single piece of material as a face layer for the dress. Inside there is a corset, and on the face there is a complete illusion of a simple soft dress with darts on a bust line and inclined darts at the waist.

3305-2

To get rid of the darts on the skirt, the front layer is cut off along the waist line.

The cover (a blouse) from the VIP course " Wedding Dress with Open Shoulders and Folded Skirt" can serve as a prototype for the bodice of such a dress. This course shows in detail how to construct a pattern with the same darts and how to connect it to a corset base.

2021-04-28_07-46-16

 

Nicole Robinson’s dress from Zuhair Murad.

Nicolette Robinson in Zuhair Murad

Nicolette Robinson in Zuhair Murad

Let’s take a look at the course “Draped dress on a soft base” from the VIP plan.

2021-04-29_17-18-24

After the base of the dress is ready, you can to decorate it.

The bodice and skirt are formed separately.

Isn’t it a compete guide on make a ‘red carpet’ dress? 😊

The skirt is half-sun with drapery. In the course "Wedding Skirts and Petticoats" you will find how to make this skirt.

2021-04-29_18-49-16

 

 

Halle Berry's  dress from Dolce & Gabbana.

3820

After analyzing the previous two garments, the details of this dress become apparent.

You can make it by following this course:

2021-04-29_18-45-43

The only difference is in the shape of the neckline and in the direction of the folds of the drapery on the bodice.

For this dress, you need to choose delicate silk materials: chiffon or organdy.

The flowing sheer skirts are cut in the shape of the sun with a gather at the waist. See how the stitching seams of the skirt canvases are clearly visible. It means that the fabrics of the usual, standard width have been chosen for this dress.

The decorative detail at the waist is a rectangle folded in several layers and laid in the form of a bow.

3820-1

 

PART 3: Crop-top dresses

Continuing the conversation about the stellar outfits of the Oscar 2021 ceremony, I want to focus on the crop-top dresses.

This year, many nominees for the film award did not hesitate to choose such styles. Their shining bright, golden colors are an eye-catcher.

  1. Andra Day in Vera Wang - in a gold dress looks like an Oscar statuette.
  2. Zendea in Valentino - in a dazzling lemon-yellow version of the bandeau dress.
  3. Carey Mulligan in Valentino couture - another version of a gold dress with a full skirt.
  4. Ariana DeBose in Atelier Versace - conquered the audience with a neon orange dress.

oscars 2021 3

I have combined these dresses into a single review, because, they are very similar from the sewing technique stand point.

So, the general features are:

The top is based on a bandeau bra. The bandeau is connected to the skirt using different types of draperies.

Therefore, we can say with 100% certainty that the sewing principle of all these dresses is the same.

No need in bodice pattern. All jumpers connecting the base bra to the skirt are made by pinning on a mannequin or directly on a client.

By the way, a bra pattern for more than 30 sizes is available for all our subscribers to the PRO or VIP programs. Therefore, you already have the foundation to create these dresses.

bustier product

And how to sew the bando you will find in several courses in the VIP program. Choose according to your taste, size, hardness of the cup and your design.

Let's imagine that we have an X-ray that can screen through the dress and highlight the base lining.

In the photos of the stars, I will try to depict the basic design of each of these dresses. Draperies are typed on this frame and fixed with hand stitches.

Andra Day's skirt has no base or lining. It is draped from a single piece of material.

2378-1

Zendea: the base of the skirt has a bell-shaped silhouette - straight to the knee line and has a slight flare at the bottom. The upper flowing layers are gathered at the waist in drapery folds.

2807-6

The silhouette of the skirt of Ariana DeBoz is similar to the skirt of Zendea. The only difference is a high cut with concave edges.

2624-4

In Carey Mulligan's dress, a skirt with a wide belt. The interior design definitely is intriguing.

As I see it, the frame supports the back and sides. From the front, the fabric of the skirt falls freely, which means that the petticoat is “cut off” and open.

3497-2

In the photo in motion, I noticed that the free sides of the front petticoat are wrapped in a cone. This creates volume and rigidity. But these are just my first guesses. In any case, we can check it on a mock-up.

How to create such unusual, non-standard crinoline petticoats, I tell in the course "Wedding skirts and petticoats".

What do you think about this review? Please write your opinion in the comments.

 

And if you want to make these dresses and, for some reason, still not members - JOIN NOW with 50% discount!

CLICK HERE >>

VIP corset academy..

4 comments

Shandreka says:

Thanks so much for this review of the gorgeous Oscar 2021 gowns. Your review really helps break it down to the basics of how these intricate looking dresses are made. I want to also thank you for reminding us we have all the tools necessary to do our own mock ups and be creative with so many patterns. You're always so encouraging thanks for that.

Femia Ross says:

You are so wonderful Tatiana!! You help de-mystify even the most complex of gowns and make them seem do-able for all of us! Amazing explanations! ❤

Sandya Soyza says:

Thank you so much to you Mrs.Kozorowitzky.It helps me so much to all of us. May God Bless you now and for ever !
Sandya from Germany

Carolyn says:

Wow. Thank you so much for the reviews, you are a blessing to the new generation designers. ❤️

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *